367 Main Street, Hyannis , MA. 02601

Fire Departments

The Town's five fire departments are not officially part of the town.  Each department is part of an independent fire district created through special acts of the state legislature between 1895 and 1949.  Fire districts have the authority to set and collect their own taxes, which is done in partnership with the Town of Barnstable's tax office.  This is why there are separate break-outs for fire district and town taxes on real estate property tax bills.  Districts are governed by elected boards.  Policy and budgets are set at annual spring meetings, which are open to any voting resident of the district.  If you have any questions about which district you live in, call the town clerk's office at 508-862-4050.

To report a fire or emergency in any of the town's five fire districts, call 911.  The numbers listed below are for business and information only.

Barnstable Fire Department
Fire Chief: Chief Francis M Pulsifer
Main Street, Barnstable
Telephone: 508-362-3312


Centerville-Osterville-Marstons Mills Fire Department
Fire Chief: Michael J. Winn
1875 Falmouth Road, Centerville (Route 28)

Centerville, MA 02632
Telephone: 508-790-2375

Cotuit Fire Department
Fire Chief: Chris Olsen
64 High Street, Cotuit
Telephone: 508-428-2210

Hyannis Fire Department
Fire Chief: Harold S. Brunelle
95 High School Rd., Hyannis
Telephone: 508-775-1300

West Barnstable Fire Department
Fire Chief: Joe Maruca
2160 Meetinghouse Way, West Barnstable
Telephone: 508-362-3241


Town Hall
Main Line
P 508-862-4000
E Email
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
367 Main Street
Hyannis , MA. 02601

Public Records
Ann Quirk
Public Records Request





contactfacebook twitter


Owned and Operated by The Town of Barnstable - Information Technology

Home | Departments & Services | Boards & Committees | Residents & Visitors | Doing Business | Town Calendar | Phone Directory | EmploymentEmail Town Hall